David Rockefeller Fellows: North America

David Rockefeller Fellows: North America

The Mission

In March 2013, The Commission’s Executive Committee voted to create a Fellows program in each region – Europe, Asia Pacific and North America and invite the Fellows to plenary and regional meetings for a term of three years  – both to honor the Commission’s founder and to benefit from the views and experiences of a generation of young leaders.

Each regional Group manages its own selection process. For general information about the selection processes click here. The initial group of Fellows from North America, Europe and Asia Pacific attended the April 2014, 2015 and 2016 plenary meetings. The Commission seeks David Rockefeller Fellows who are 35 years or younger. Fellows selected in any given year  will begin attending meetings at the following year’s  plenary meeting.

The Commission has set aside a limited amount of funding to support the travel of David Rockefeller Fellows to meetings as necessary, and will also require regular attendance at both annual plenary and regional meetings. All Fellows  must be citizens or permanent residents of a   country  in the region against whose quota they will count.

North American David Rockefeller Fellows

The Trilateral Commission, founded by David Rockefeller in 1973, each year selects a group of David Rockefeller Fellows (DRFs). The Commission seeks applicants 35 years old or younger who show keen interest in national and global issues and strong potential for future leadership. DRFs join the Commission’s annual meetings and are invited to participate as full members do.  The Commission covers the costs of attendance to these meetings of the DRFs.  The fellows will also have other opportunities to engage with both the Commission membership and DRFs in other regions.

Eligibility Requirements

Prospective DRFs in the North American group must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States, Mexico or Canada and 35 years of age or younger on the application deadline. Applicants are required to obtain one nominating letter from a current Trilateral Commission member and should intend to participate fully in the Commission’s work, including its two annual meetings.


The process for becoming a David Rockefeller Fellow involves nomination by a Commission member, conditional approval by the selection committee, and final approval by the Trustees and Executive Committee. DRFs serve for three-year terms. 

Candidates or their nominees should submit their applications to membership@trilateral.org with the following elements:

All letters should be emailed, by the recommenders’ offices, to membership@trilateral.org.

For those wishing more  information about the Fellowship program and how to apply should contact the appropriate Commission office, listed below –

North America:

PO Box 380810,
Cambridge MA 02238

Ravipal Bains
Partner, McMillan LLP
David Borcsok
Founder, Ordinary
Elisa Lavor
Lead of the Gender Equality and Social Inclusion, Skills For Prosperity Initiative, Development Alternatives Inc.
Laura McGee
Founder & CEO, Diversio, Canada
Ana Janaina (Jana) Nelson
Nelson, Latin America Lead, Amazon Web Services Institute, Washington
Roxanne Petraeus
Co-Founder & CEO, Ethena, New York
Joshua W. Walker
President & CEO, Japan Society, New York
Ali Wyne
Senior Analyst for Global Macro, Eurasia Group
Ammanuel Zegeye
Partner, McKinsey & Co., San Francisco
Juan Pablo Zorrilla
Founder and CEO, Resuelve tu Deuda, Mexico