David Rockefeller Fellows: North America

David Rockefeller Fellows: North America

The Mission

In March 2013, The Commission’s Executive Committee voted to create a Fellows program in each region – Europe, Asia Pacific and North America and invite the Fellows to plenary and regional meetings for a term of three years  – both to honor the Commission’s founder and to benefit from the views and experiences of a generation of young leaders.

Each regional Group manages its own selection process. The initial group of Fellows from North America, Europe and Asia Pacific attended the April 2014, 2015 and 2016 plenary meetings. The Commission seeks David Rockefeller Fellows who are 35 years or younger. Fellows selected in any given year will begin attending meetings at the following year’s  plenary meeting.

The Commission has set aside a limited amount of funding to support the travel of David Rockefeller Fellows to meetings as necessary, and will also require regular attendance at both annual plenary and regional meetings. All Fellows must be citizens or permanent residents of a country in the region against whose quota they will count.

North American David Rockefeller Fellows

The Trilateral Commission, founded by David Rockefeller in 1973, each year selects a group of David Rockefeller Fellows (DRFs). The Commission seeks applicants 35 years old or younger who show keen interest in national and global issues and strong potential for future leadership. DRFs join the Commission’s annual meetings and are invited to participate as full members do.  The Commission covers the costs of attendance to these meetings of the DRFs.  The fellows will also have other opportunities to engage with both the Commission membership and DRFs in other regions.

Eligibility Requirements

Prospective DRFs in the North American group must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States, Mexico or Canada and 35 years of age or younger on the application deadline. Applicants are required to obtain one nominating letter from a current Trilateral Commission member and should intend to participate fully in the Commission’s work, including its two annual meetings.


The process for becoming a David Rockefeller Fellow involves nomination by a Commission member, conditional approval by the selection committee, and final approval by the Trustees and Executive Committee. DRFs serve for three-year terms. 

Candidates or their nominees should submit their applications to membership@trilateral.org with the following elements:

All letters should be emailed, by the recommenders’ offices, to membership@trilateral.org.

For those wishing more  information about the Fellowship program and how to apply should contact the appropriate Commission office, listed below.

North America: Please note that nominations for the current cycle are closed.

PO Box 380810,
Cambridge MA 02238

Ravipal Bains
Partner, McMillan LLP
George Bogden
Law Clerk, Chambers of Judge Stephen Alexander Vaden, United States Court of International Trade
Adem Bunkeddeko
Executive Director, Coro New York
Alma Caballero
Regional Director, Latin America, McLarty Associates; Senior Advisor, Georgetown University Americas Institute
Yuga Cohler
Senior Staff Software Engineer, Coinbase
Jacob Dockstator
Executive Director of the Sioux Lookout Friendship Accord
Connor Lyons
Principal & Head of Strategic Initiatives at Power Sustainable
Ana Janaina (Jana) Nelson
Senior Policy Advisor, U.S. Mission to the United Nations
Caroline Pestel
Senior Advisor, Office of Net Assessment and National Security Council
Mohammed Soliman
Director, Strategic Technologies and Cyber Security Program at the Middle East Institute
Pablo Tortolero
Technology policy and security & Fintech
Ammanuel Zegeye
Partner, McKinsey & Co., San Francisco
Renata Zilli
Researcher, ECIPE